Media Releases
Published Date: 24 May 2006

Winners of MAS-ESS Essay Competition Announced




ESS 50th Anniversary Celebration

Singapore, 24 May 2006... The Economic Society of Singapore (ESS) celebrated its 50th anniversary at its Annual Dinner today.  Mr Rodrigo de Rato, Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund, was the Guest-of-honour.  He spoke on the emergence of Asia and its role in the international financial system.

2   As part of its celebrations, the Society conferred its Honorary Fellowship on Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong for his outstanding stewardship of and contribution to Singapore.  Previous recipients of the ESS Honorary Fellowship include Dr Goh Keng Swee, Professor You Poh Seng, and Professor Lim Chong Yah.

3   Prizes were also awarded at the dinner to the winners of this year's MAS-ESS Essay Competition, which seeks to raise awareness of economic issues among students.  The theme of this year's competition was "Asia's Role in the Global Economy and the International Financial System."  It attracted a total of 86 entries, a significant increase from the previous year.  The following winners received their prizes from Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong.

Pre-University Category

University Category

First prize

Mr Koh Poh Wei
Hwa Chong Institution

Mr Koh Kint Hock Melvin

Second prize

Mr Jeremy Teh Zi Rong /
Mr Tan Yong Liang (joint entry)
Hwa Chong Institution

Mr Yang Bo (NUS) /
Ms Chia Wai Mun (NTU) (joint entry)

Third prize

Ms Hong Min Lin
Raffles Junior College

Mr See Kok Heng (Wharton) /
Mr Ng Pin Quan (Columbia) (joint entry)

4   Commenting on the essays submitted for the competition, ESS President Dr Khor Hoe Ee said, "We received over 80 entries this year, many of which were of a very high quality.  It was not easy for the judges to select the winning essays.  Unlike previous competitions, this year's topic had an international dimension, and was fairly challenging.  There was a high level of maturity and sophistication of thought in many of the entries."