Media Releases
Published Date: 28 February 2013

Changes to the MAS Board of Directors

Singapore, 28 February 2013... The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) announced that Mr Quek See Tiat will be appointed to its Board of Directors.  Mr Quek’s term of appointment will be from 1 March 2013 to 31 May 2015.  Mr Quek is the Chairman of the Building and Construction Authority, and is also a Board Member of the Energy Market Authority and Neptune Orient Lines Group.  He was formerly the Deputy Chairman of PricewaterhouseCoopers Singapore.

2   Mr Lucien Wong1, Chairman and Senior Partner, Allen & Gledhill, will step down from the MAS Board of Directors on 28 February 2013.  MAS is grateful to Mr Wong for his active and substantive contributions on the Board over the last seven years.

3   The members of the MAS Board of Directors are listed in the Annex.

1 Mr Lucien Wong was appointed to the MAS Board of Directors on 1 January 2006.



Board of Directors of the Monetary Authority of Singapore
(with effect from 1 March 2013)

Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam (Chairman)
Deputy Prime Minister;
Minister for Finance

Mr Lim Hng Kiang (Deputy Chairman)
Minister for Trade and Industry

Mr Heng Swee Keat
Minister for Education

Mr Lawrence Wong Shyun Tsai
Acting Minister for Culture, Community and Youth;
Senior Minister of State (Communications and Information)

Mr Lim Chee Onn
Senior International Advisor, Singbridge Private Limited

Mr Peter Ong Boon Kwee
Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Professor Tan Chorh Chuan
President, National University of Singapore

Mr Quek See Tiat
Chairman, Building and Construction Authority

Mr Ravi Menon
Managing Director, MAS