Media Releases
Published Date: 03 July 2023

Appointment of New Chairman and Deputy Chairman to MAS Board of Directors

Singapore, 3 July 2023... The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) announced today that Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance, Mr Lawrence Wong, will be appointed Chairman of the MAS Board of Directors for the period from 8 July 2023 to 31 May 2026.

2. Mr Wong has been Deputy Chairman of MAS since 1 June 2021 and had previously served as a member of the MAS Board from June 2011 to August 2016.

3. Mr Wong replaces Senior Minister and Coordinating Minister for Social Policies, Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam, who has served as Chairman of MAS for twelve years since May 2011, and will step down from 8 July 2023.

4. Mr Gan Kim Yong, Minister for Trade and Industry, will be appointed to the MAS Board for the period from 8 July 2023 to 31 May 2026. He will also be appointed Deputy Chairman of the MAS Board.

5. The members of the MAS Board are listed in the Annex.