Media Releases
Published Date: 13 July 2005

Winners Announced for MAS-ESS Essay Competition 2004

Singapore, 13 July 2005...The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) and the Economics Society of Singapore (ESS) today awarded prizes for the annual MAS-ESS Essay Competition 2004.  The prize giving ceremony took place during the ESS Annual Dinner.  Winners received their prizes from guest-of-honour   Ms Ho Ching, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer of Temasek Holdings Pte Ltd. The winners in the Pre-University and University categories were:

Pre-University Category  University Category
First prize 

Mr Thum Jie Liang
Hwa Chong Junior College

Mr Joshua Liaw &
Ms Maureen Tee Zhi En (joint entry)
Singapore Management University
Second prize

Mr Joe-Han Ho

Ms Judith Huang &
Mr Huang Zhipeng (joint entry)
Harvard University

Third prize Ms Pepper Lee
Raffles Junior College
Mr Samuel Goh
University of Auckland

This year, a new "University" category was introduced in place of the "Open" category, and the "Students" category was renamed "Pre-University" category.  The theme of the essay competition, held between October-January this year, was "Is Our Education System Able to Meet the Challenges of Globalisation?" The competition attracted a total of 62 essays, 46 for the Pre-University category and 16 for the University.

Commenting on the essays submitted for the competition, ESS President Dr Khor Hoe Ee said, "We received over 60 entries for the essay competition this year, many of which were of very high quality.  As a result, it was a challenge for the judges to select the winning essays.  Interestingly, the winning essays in both categories shared a common focus, stressing on the importance of fostering greater understanding of global issues, promoting critical and innovative thinking, encouraging enterprise and diverse talents, and improving the communication skills of our students."  

This is the fourth year that MAS and ESS have jointly organized the Essay Competition. The following prizes were awarded to the top three essays in the two categories:




First prize



Second prize



Third prize




The winning essays are available on the MAS ( and ESS ( ) websites.