Media Releases
Published Date: 10 June 2011

Appointment to MAS Board of Directors


Singapore, 10 June 2011... The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) announced that Mr Lawrence Wong Shyun Tsai, Minister of State for Ministry of Education and Ministry of Defence, has been appointed to its Board of Directors. Mr Wong’s term of appointment will be from 10 June 2011 to 31 May 2013.

2   Mr Wong started his public sector career in the Ministry of Trade and Industry in August 1997.  He joined the Administrative Service in January 2002 and was appointed Chief Executive of the Energy Market Authority in January 2009.  Mr Wong left the Administrative Service in April 2011. 

3   The members of the MAS Board of Directors are listed in the Annex.



Board of Directors of the Monetary Authority of Singapore
(with effect from 10 June 2011)

Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam (Chairman)
Deputy Prime Minister;
Minister for Finance;
Minister for Manpower

Mr Lim Hng Kiang (Deputy Chairman)
Minister for Trade and Industry

Mr Heng Swee Keat
Minister for Education

Mr Lawrence Wong Shyun Tsai
Minister of State for Ministry of Education;
Minister of State for Ministry of Defence

Mr Teo Ming Kian (Chairman of Audit Committee)
Permanent Secretary (National Research and Development), Prime Minister’s Office; Advisor (Special Projects), Ministry of Finance

Mr Lim Chee Onn (Chairman of Risk Committee)
Senior Advisor, Keppel Corporation Limited;
Chairman, Singbridge International Singapore Limited

Mr Lucien Wong Yuen Kuai
Managing Partner, Allen & Gledhill

Mr Peter Ong Boon Kwee
Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Mr Sundaresh Menon

Mr Ravi Menon
Managing Director, MAS