Media Releases
Published Date: 01 December 2016

Singapore Savings Bond Issuances in 2017

Singapore, 1 December 2016…The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) announced today that up to $2 billion of Savings Bonds will be offered in 2017. The first Savings Bond of 2017 (SBJAN17) will be issued on 3 January 2017, and up to $150 million will be available. A new Savings Bond will continue to be issued every month. The issuance calendar for 2017, which sets out the application and issuance dates, can be found on the Savings Bond website.

2.  Individuals may apply for the SBJAN17 bond from 6.00pm on 1 December 2016 to 9.00pm on 27 December 2016Investors may apply through DBS/POSB, OCBC and UOB ATMs or through DBS/POSB’s Internet Banking portal. With the exception of 1 December 2016, these application channels will be open from 7.00am to 9.00pm from Mondays to Saturdays, excluding Public Holidays. On 1 December 2016, these channels will be open from 6.00pm to 9.00pm.. The public notice attached in Annex 1 contains the full terms of issue for this Savings Bond, including the schedule of interest rates.

3.  Interested investors are reminded that they must have an Individual Central Depository (CDP) Securities account with Direct Crediting Service (DCS) activated. CDP helps investors keep track of their Savings Bond holdings and facilitates the crediting of Savings Bond interest payments into investors’ bank accounts. Investors who already have Individual CDP Securities accounts should checkInvestors can call the CDP hotline (6535-7511) to enquire about DCS activation. The CDP hotline operating hours are: Mondays to Fridays (8.30am to 5.00pm), Saturdays (9.00am to 12.30pm), excluding Public Holidays. Investors who receive cheques from CDP for dividend payments do not have DCS activated for their accounts.that DCS has been activated before applying for Savings Bonds.

4.  For more information, please visit the Savings Bonds website at or call the Savings Bonds hotline at 6221-3682The Savings Bonds hotline operating hours are: Mondays to Fridays (8.30am to 5.30pm), excluding Public Holidays..